Israel - Light onto Nations is an initiative, not a media watch organization. It is web-based and does not involve fundraising.

Israel - Light onto Nations endorses various Canadian media-watch organizations, such as: CLIC - Canadian Light on Israel Coverage, Honest Reporting ( and The Media Action Group (

Did You Know?

Israel engineers are behind the development of the largest communications router in the world, launched by Cisco.

Sunday, March 3, 2013

Israeli teens to compete in int’l eco-writing contest


Youths from all of over the world stand to enter international competition held in Denmark, aimed to find next generation of environmental reporters

The international Young Reporters for the Environment (YRE) competition, held in Denmark, has begun taking entries, and is now also open to Israeli teens.
The contest means to encourage teens and youths to investigate and report on environmental issues and their solutions via journalistic vehicles, such as writing, photography or video.
Teenagers who are interested in entering the competition are required to prepare a short written or video article focusing on a local environmental issue and its solutions and post it, via their school newspaper, local media or social networks. A digital copy must be submitted by March 21.
The works will be reviewed by the judging panel as well as leading environmental journalists.
The judges are comprised of representatives of the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), the European Environment Agency (EEA), the International Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and The Times.
The winners of each category – who will be the semi-finalists – will be announced in April.
The winners will be announced in Denmark on the next Earth Day, in June.
Entry details and instruction are available be emailing the competition or on the competition’s Facebook page.
This year, 27 counties will be participating, including Israel, Canada, the United States, China, Cyprus, France, Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Malta, Morocco, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Britain, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia and the UAE.